Vote For The Ruden Report Fall Coach Of The Year

After a long list of memorable accomplishments over the past two months, it is time for you to decide who was the very best of the best. We have selected eight outstanding finalists for The Ruden Report FCIAC Fall Coach of the Year.

The winner will receive a $25 Colony Grill gift certificate. The vote ends at noon on Tuesday.

Here are the finalists:

Rodrigo Guzman, Brien McMahon Boys Soccer. Guzman led the Senators to an eighth-place finish and league playoff berth. He was selected the FCIAC Coach of the Year in the sport.

Rich Hickson, New Canaan Girls Soccer. Hickson led the Rams to an 11-4-1 record, the fourth seed in the league playoffs and a berth in the championship game.

Laddie Lawrence, Staples Boys Cross Country. Lawrence led the Wreckers to an undefeated regular season and the FCIAC and Class LL titles.

Marianna Linnehan, Westhill Volleyball. Linnehan led the Vikings to the regular season title, the FCIAC championship match and to the state semifinals. She was selected FCIAC Coach of the Year in the sport.

Mitch Ross, Fairfield Ludlowe Football. Ross has so far led the Falcons to a 6-3 mark, double the team’s win total for the last three years combined.

Jessica Smith, Ridgefield Field Hockey. Smith in her first season led the Tigers to a 7-4-1-2 mark and the seventh seed in the FCIAC Tournament.

Bill Strickland, Trumbull Swimming. Strickland was voted FCIAC Coach of the Year in the sport.

Marsha Turek, Danbury Girls Cross Country. Turek led the Hatters to the FCIAC, Class LL and State Open championships.


  1. Rodrigo Guzman is devoted to the sport and to his players, he has given his team his undivided attention to these young men! he is a great role model for them.

    • He was not FCIAC coach of the year. That award was won by the Trumbull coach. Rodrigo being a good person does not matter. He should not have been on the list

  2. The Football Coach in Fairfield deserves all the praise !!! What a great year they are having and is turning around the football program. Congrats.

  3. Coach Strickland has had the best year with the Lady Eagles!
    He is a great coach and earned the well deserved 2018 FCIAC Coach of the Year!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.